Skip to content

[snippets of Kaua’i]

08/24/2012

Welcome to Kaua’i! Bear with me, as our honeymoon pictures will come through in many, many blog posts. This first one is kind of a mixy-matchy one, lots of pictures from different days. The next ones will be based on the ‘big events’ like kayaking and the luau and flying over the whole island. But not today. Today is for snippets.

First let me say that, in case you didn’t already know, this honeymoon was completely planned by Nathaniel. I had NO idea until the morning of the day we left (day after the wedding) where we were going! As we drove to the airport, Nate handed me a guidebook. And on it said KAUA’I! And I squealed! “No way, really? Wait, really? We’re really going to Hawai’i?! Omg, wait, but you said I needed a passport… you sneak! Oh my gosh, I’m so excited!”

So basically. It was the best trip ever.

~*~

The view from the condo. Each morning, we woke up to the ocean. And I smiled every time.

The people who Nate rented the condo from left us a surprise: flowers! Real, Hawaiian smelly-good-flowers.

This was taken from the rental car. Which was a convertible. Yep.

Just cruisin’ with the top down. In Hawai’i. No big dealz.

Oh, this was one of the many sunrises we witnessed from the front porch.

And this was one of the many mugs of coffee I drank while sunrise-seeing.

We went to a lighthouse and saw really pretty views. Well, actually, there were pretty views everywhere, but these were the first pretty views from a high-up place looking over the ocean we enjoyed and it was … pretty. Guys, I have the vocabulary of a 4th grader, sorry.

Shaved ice was everywhere and this wasn’t even the best kind we got, although it was good.

THIS was the best kind we got (pineapple & coconut flavors). It was seriously almost a foot tall. Okay, maybe 8 inches, but still, it was massive. Look at him, Nate was totally licking him lips getting ready to chow down on this.

This picture is PERFECT. Printing this one huge.

The swinging bridge in Hanapepe! It really swung quite a bit, and it was kind of scary. Nate made me walk the WHOLE way across and back, meanie.

Kaua’i Coffee Company is made up of 3,100 acres of real, live, growing coffee. And we got to tour approximately .01 acres of it. But I’m sure it all looks the same. Nate doesn’t like coffee, but I was in coffee heaven! I tried like 8 different kinds (for free, yo!) and then went to WalMart later that day and bought my favorite kind for 6 bucks cheaper. Is that rude??

And really, guys, that’s all I have for this post, sorry it wasn’t long enough. Oh wait..

Plane rides and kayak trips and beaches and luau’s coming soon!

Bye.

~srk

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/24/2012 10:16 am

    These are amazing!!!!!!! :)

  2. 08/25/2012 9:44 am

    This is so exciting!!! I can’t wait to see more!

  3. 08/29/2012 2:15 pm

    These look awesome! I can’t wait to see more!

Leave a comment