Skip to content

[flying over Kaua’i]

08/24/2012

As a wedding present, Nate’s brother and his girlfriend surprised us with a plane ride over the whole island of Kaua’i. We didn’t find out about it until we got to the condo, and we were so excited!

For the rest of our lives, whenever we talk about this trip, Nate will make fun of me for getting queasy/dizzy because I didn’t listen to him when he suggested I take motion-sickness-preventing medicine. Guys, motion sickness has never really been a problem for me so that’s why I didn’t take anything! This time, it was. The only way I didn’t feel queasy was if I was taking pictures, so I took a LOT of pictures during that hour plane ride. But besides all that, seeing the island was pretty awesome!

Right before we got on the six-person plane, the pilot goes “Ok! Nathaniel! You are the co-pilot, so hop up front!” And Nate was all like “Sweet!” And I was all like “No fair!”. But he was a good co-pilot (basically the only responsibility he had was to not barf all over the equipment. But he had taken the medicine. So he was fine the whole time.)

THIS is why I got dizzy! The plane was all over the place! Side to side, round in circles… Ugh. But look how perfect that ocean is!

I love Jurassic Park, but I cannot for the life of me remember which movie this waterfall is in. But it’s in one of them! Anyone up for a Jurassic Park-watching marathon?

Wicked trees.

The perfect blue of the ocean gets me every time. Like. It must be fake.

This awesome cove was in one of the Pirates movies, and also a James Bond one, I believe. Again, not sure which ones, but I will be on the lookout next time I watch them. Also, if we ever make it back to Kaua’i, we’ve vowed to hike to this beach. You can’t get there by car, only by walking or boating to it, so if that’s what we have to do then let’s do it!

Look at my little co-pilot, being all serious and stuff.

And lastly, Pierce Brosnan’s red-roofed vacation home. Close neighbor of Julia Roberts (whose house isn’t in this picture, but very close by.) Kaua’i is on the A-List, people.

Would you ever want to fly over an island in a plane? I mean, the views were AWESOME, and I’d recommend it solely for that reason, but I was so beat for the rest of the day. Honestly, I took a 2.5 hour nap almost as soon as we got back to the condo.

So many more pictures coming! Thanks for coming back to look at the, chaps!

~srk

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

