Skip to content

#RunSeptember

09/01/2012

Because my life as of late has been very, let’s say, transitional, normal everyday things that I used to do without thinking have somehow gotten lost in the shuffle. Things like wicked healthy eating and running. Yes, running. This past month (August, for those of you who potentially have no idea) I ran a total… TOTAL… ALL MONTH…. 20 miles. That’s IT. Yes I have many things I’m blaming it on. Wedding prep, lazy honeymooning in Hawai’i, new schedules, shorter days. But honestly that’s all about to stop. Because of this laziness, I’ve gained a few pounds and I don’t feel like my healthy self.

That’s where #RunSeptember comes in. I follow people on Twitter who do #RunStreaks and see how many days in a row they can run. Well, that’s basically what I’m doing, but just for the month of September. I’m going to try my hardest to run every single day of the BEST month of LIFE, EVER. Perfect weather, perfect evening sunshine, perfect crisp mornings. I’m pumped.

This is get my current sloth-like 13 minute mile back down to a least 10 minutes. This is to remind my body of how it feels to be agile. This is to get stronger so that in the next year or two I can train for a marathon. This is to join my new town’s awesome community of runners and feel like I can keep up. This is to prove to myself that I really do love running, even on the worst days.

No part of September is better than running. Pumpkin spice lattes are amazing. Red and orange leaves are so pretty. But September running? Is actually the best thing. If you like running, and need a reason to get out there more, why don’t you try to #RunSeptember?

OK.WISHMELUCK.BYE.

~srk

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sylvia Palmer permalink
    09/04/2012 1:08 am

    If you friends with my daughter, Jennifer Palmer, watch what she posts about walking. She’s also having a problem, she’s a Teacher, up at 5:30 AM, at School by 6:30, 6:45….and not back home until 4 PM. And usually in bed by 9 PM. If she walks 2,000 to 2500 steps, that about 1 mile. When it’s cold and/or raining, she walks in the house. Her dogs thinks she’s lost her mind. She is with WeightWatchers, and since January she’s love 56 lbs. WW is a very good way to lose the weight. You eat healthy foods that you prepare, thus controlling the seasonings, salt etc. You can join on line. They have a good support system on line. Good luck.
    Sylvia ( aka Aunt Sissy)

  2. 09/11/2012 1:10 pm

    You can do it! September is the best running month of the year. Enjoy your journey!

Leave a Reply

