Skip to content

[a fire inside]

05/07/2012

A LOT of things I do waste time. They don’t matter. They don’t enhance my life. That makes me sad. Why am I wasting my life? This song kind of sums it up: Don’t Wanna Waste my Life, by Lecrae. Give it a listen.

Anyways, I follow a blog called Making Things Happen. It’s an offshoot of a conference series (that unfortunately I’m too poor to attend), but luckily the blog is super informative and inspiring and most of the things the authors write about just make sense to me.

The other day they posted a little snippet entitled “Things that fire me up”. It challenged readers to make a list of things that seriously and honestly get us excited to be alive (they also provided a cute template to write all the things down on). So, I thought about it. And I wrote some things down. And then I decided that during the next weeks I’m going to focus on these things, because if these are the things that I LOVE, why isn’t my life filled with more of them?

Most of my days are consumed with commuting, being on the internet, and worrying about how many calories I’m eating every day. This just in: I hate all of those things.

I want to share my life with people who matter to me. Take people out for coffee. Spend more time with Jesus in the early mornings reading about how he changed the world. I want to go on more spontaneous adventures with my fiancé. Examine and enjoy how people love each other. I want to create beautiful things that I can give to people to make their days happier. Call my far away friends more than once a month. Babysit church kiddos so their mamma’s can have a free afternoon to spend with friends they haven’t seen in a while. I want to share meals with more people. Love people better. Pray more often.

I’m making it a priority to learn how to smarten-up my life. Waste less time. Be wise about the seconds I have. Maybe I’ll doodle during my train rides to Providence. Maybe instead of spending my lunch break on Facebook, I’ll write a letter to a far away friend. I don’t know exactly how I’ll do it, yet. It’s a learning process.

I’m okay with that.

~s

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/08/2012 1:10 pm

    Awww those are great happy moments :) I also love to spend time with the Lord in the mornings :)

  2. 05/09/2012 10:01 am

    Is the list about things that inspire/motivate you/reasons to do what you do or things you love?

    • 05/18/2012 9:00 am

      yeah, the list is all the things that i flat out LOVE to do. i want to make more time for those things, because they make me truly happy.

Leave a Reply

