Skip to content

[get up & go] Week 4.

04/15/2012

Week 4 of the get up and go challenge. We’re almost halfway through! How did your Week 3 goals go?

My goal last week: Strength train 4 days. Well, I managed 3 days of it. Monday was workout group at church (yes, it’s as awesome as it sounds), Wednesday was a core sequence thing I found online, Friday was a harsh introduction to the world of Crossfit. But I loved it, actually. And am trying to figure out a way to do it more often. Thankfully I have very generous friends. Anyways, I did one less day than planned, but any days of strength is better than I was doing before, so I’ll still call this a win.

This week’s goal(s) (we’re getting complicated here): 1) Keep hydrated (I’ve been slacking the last few days). 2) strength train 3 times and 3) Don’t worry about miles. Try different ways to run: Stair sprints, around the track, in the woods. Run on roads as little as possible.

Speaking of running… yesterday I felt like in had never run a step in my life. I hate those days. It was really warm out and apparently I hadn’t had enough water because 10 minutes into it I seriously felt like I was crawling through the desert. It was rough. My feet were dragging, my face was beet red, and I was just thanking God for every step because I couldn’t have done it on my own energy. 40 minutes and tons of bubbling brook daydreams later, I was home and lapping up water like I’d never tasted it before. Ugh. But I ran.

Sometimes those days happen. They used to get me so mad/frustrated. Like, WHY do I still have these days when I feel like everything I’ve worked for has evaporated and I’m back at square one? The days when I literally look, feel, and smell like crap, and no amount of ‘runners high’ is going to make it better.

THOSE DAYS. Those stupid days. Those long, boring, WHY-AM-I-DOING-THIS days. We ALL have them. They happen. They suck. They will ALWAYS suck. But the next day? WILL PROBABLY BE AWESOME. So push through and get that one bad day out of your system, because the next day will be sunny and you can start fresh. Like. Honestly.

Speaking of awesome. TOMORROW IS THE BOSTON MARATHON! I’m so excited to live in a town that the marathon runs through. I will go on a run, and then go cheer for all those people who are braving the 80+ degree weather to run TWENTYSIXPOINTTWO miles!! I can’t even think about that. This is more like it for me:

I saw this sticker in the city yesterday and laughed out loud. So true.

Also: Can I share this beautiful meal with you? Last night’s dinner: Hamburgers (two small ones) topped with fresh tomatoes and YUMMERS sweet potato fries (covered in cinnamon). Ohmytummy. So delish.

K: you know what to do! Comment on this post what your goal for the week is! (Only like 3 people commented last week, so either people are already slacking off (OH NO!), or are very forgetful. You don’t want to be either. I KNOW there are more of you out there!)

Later gators.

-s

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    04/16/2012 8:34 am

    My new goal last week was to run or do a workout video 5 days. And I did one or both for 5 days! This week my goals are still to wake up at 6 am (really failing at that!) and to keep up the 5 days of exercise but to “power it out” and not rest in the middle!

  2. sarajweber permalink
    04/17/2012 9:56 am

    My goals this week are to..
    • Count calories 3+ days
    • Be in bed before 12 each night
    • Run twice

  3. KWalker permalink
    04/17/2012 1:48 pm

    I forgot to comment…last week was iffy. I had a milkshake one day and cookies another. So yeah, had dessert. But thats okay for 2 of 7 days!
    This week I want to be in bed by 11. More sleep = healthier me!
    Last night I was in bed by 11:30. Starting off ok. But tonight will be better :)

Leave a Reply

