Skip to content

[get up & go]

03/25/2012

Disclaimer: I am not a health professional. The things you will read in this post is merely me trying to be a little inspirational .

Also: If this only motivates one person, that’s still enough.

Ok, that’s over, onto the good stuff.

I know some people who read this blog aren’t completely thrilled with their bodies, health, or weight. How? Because I’m friends with you and you tell me these things. I know some of you are frustrated that your spring clothes don’t fit as well as last year, or that you want to go to the gym, you just can’t find the motivation. I also know some of you are overweight. It’s nothing to be ashamed of, but I’m telling you right now, it ain’t healthy. The good thing is, you can change that.

That’s where Get Up & Go comes in. It’s a new challenge I’m starting with myself because I’ve been seriously complacent in my healthy journey the last few months. The cool thing is, I’m inviting YOU to join me. Just think of this as my little kick in the pants to you to get up and do something. Come on, do it for yourself. That’s the only person I’m doing it for.

What? A 10-week healthy lifestyle challenge. I’m using it as a way to get in better shape. You can use it as a way to do the same, or lose weight, or eat better. Or all of the above.

Where? Wherever you live, eat, breathe, sleep.

How? We’ll each pick healthy goals to focus on for 10 weeks. A new goal each week. Goals that are doable and “implementable” in our daily lives.

My duties: Each Sunday I’ll post the goal I’m personally working on for the week. I’ll keep you updated on how my goals are going and encourage you in your goal endeavors. I’ll post inspirations tidbits and stories that I find around the interwebs. Things that will keep us going strong!

Your duties: Pick goals that matter to you. Comment on the blog post each week and tell me your goal for that week. And then? Don’t give up.

At the end of the ten weeks, I’ll do a recap of my goals and how they each went. Then you’ll do the same. Email me a few highlights (and low points) of the ten weeks. If you do all this (tell me your goal each week on the blog post and send me your “recap” at the end) I’ll send you back a healthy-related present. =)

Ten weeks. That’s almost three months. Over the course of three months in the fall of 2010, I lost 15 pounds. I stopped eating most crappy foods, ate more green stuff, and “ran” a little bit each day. It’s proven (by yours truly) to be plenty of time to break bad habits and make better ones.

Here are some of the goals I’ll be focusing on during these ten weeks:

– Keep a water bottle in my bag/on my desk at all times. Drink from said water bottle at all times.
– Go to one real yoga class early in the week. Other days of the week, practice what I learned.
– Do something every day this week that I don’t think I can do. Run faster. Cook an elaborate meal. Then, write about it.
– Run 25 miles this week.
– Eat completely clean this week. No processed foods whatsoever.
– Eliminate the little things. Honey in my tea, cream in my coffee, dressing on my salad. Little things add up.
-Try different ways to run. Stair sprints, around the track, in the woods. Run on roads as little as possible.
– Make a new and exciting meal every night. Do research to know which “good” things to substitute the “bad” things with.

Here are some other goal examples that might be of interest to you:

– Work out at least four times this week.
– This week, whenever I eat grain, make sure it’s WHOLE grain.
– Prepare my lunch the night before, and bring my lunch to work every day this week. Saves cals and money.
– Track everything I eat this week on MyFitnessPal.
– Find a trustworthy healthy buddy who I can share my goals with and be accountable to.
– Grab a friend and go on a 20 minute walk every day during our lunch break.
– Don’t watch any TV this week. Instead, use that time to learn a new hobby.
– Eat a hearty breakfast every morning. Take note of how my body and brain react and feel the rest of the day.
– Learn to stop saying “I’ll do it tomorrow” and do it today.

Feel free to use some of these as your goals. If you don’t like all of these, make up some of your own. The best goals are those centered around things you know you need to work on (like for me, it’s getting back to very healthy eating). Make sure you can implement the goals into your life even after that first week of focusing on it. Life goals, if you will.

It is a good idea to keep track of your progress and such. I do this on a pretty regular basis at www.givemehealthy.tumblr.com. But for some of you, the internets can be scary / not your style, so I encourage you to keep a personal journal of your progress.

P.S. If you’ve decided to take part in this challenge as a way to lose weight, I strongly encourage you to take a ‘before’ picture. You don’t have to show anyone else, but it’s good for you to have on reference to see how far you can/will go. At the end of the 10 weeks, take an ‘after’ picture. If you make good goals and stick to them, you WILL see a difference.

Ok, my goal this week is the first one on that list up there: Keep a water bottle in my bag/on my desk at all times. Drink from said water bottle at all times! Hydrate hydrate hydrate! 

So, what are YOU supposed to do now? 1. Go think of some goals. 2. Comment about your first week’s goal in the comment section. And 3. get to it! =)

-stephanie

9 Comments leave one →
  1. sarajweber permalink
    03/25/2012 10:45 pm

    I’m in! I’ll post goals tomorrow on my tumblr.

  2. 03/26/2012 7:52 am

    I’m going to try to run at least three times this week!

  3. AWalker permalink
    03/26/2012 1:12 pm

    I’m in. First goal. DRINK from the water bottle that I do already carry around with me everywhere. TWO: AB workouts AT LEAST 5 times a week. Even if i cant find time to get to the gym…there is no excuse to not do some abs on my bedroom floor. :)

    I’ll write the rest of my goals tomorrow during class. :)

    Love ya, and love your motivational skills.
    <3

  4. Emily permalink
    03/27/2012 4:26 pm

    YES! Drinking water – I drink about 24-36 oz a day, but I need to increase that. I keep a camelback at my desk but need to start carrying one around in my purse.

    Get my add back to the gym at least 3 days a week. I was doing so well!

    This is exciting, thanks for the motivation!

  5. KWalker permalink
    03/28/2012 11:01 am

    I changed mine up, due to schedule changes that meant no gym mon or tues. So now it’s drinking water all day e’ry day! No soda or sugary drinks!

Leave a Reply

