Skip to content

[266] Alive.

03/23/2012

Springtime is upon us. To break up the tedium of my work-from-home-day (spending hours with InDesign isn’t the best thing ever, even if you do get to sit on your couch in your comfy clothes), I went on a walk to scout out all the new alive-ivity of my front and back yards. It mostly came in the form of flowers and buds.

Little pops of yellow are showing up all over the neighborhood.

The sun helped me out a lot on this one.

Soon these little pink buds will be flowers and will force me to take more pictures of them.

I was thinking (which not something that happens on a regular basis) about the word alive. Of course, there’s the “not dead” definition, like these little flowers. But there’s also the kind of alive that comes when you’re clearly alive (the not dead kind) and you’re happy. You’re thoroughly enjoying what you’re doing. You get excited about little things. For me, it’s when I’m outside in the sun, wandering with my camera. Then, I feel alive. When I’m back in my hometown driving towards Camp Spofford with the windows down & the country music blasting, I’m alive. When Nate and I have no plans, except to go for a walk around the pond near his house, I feel alive. Those types of seemingly insignificant things get me excited to just be me.

Now I’d love to hear from you: What makes you feel this way?

~s

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/23/2012 4:53 pm

    Oooo its coming!!! Lol

  2. sarajweber permalink
    03/23/2012 8:57 pm

    Windows down, music blasting, blue skies, white clouds, good friends & a good drive. That’s my fav. Love your pictures!

Leave a Reply

