Skip to content

[264] Take the Stairs.

03/21/2012
tags: ,

I got home around 6:30 and guess what? There was still some sunlight! Yayyyy we love sun.

Thankfully, between the nice weather and lots of unexpected inspiration (Biggest Loser, my roommate updating me that she’s lost 108 pounds since last May (!!!), Bethany Hamilton) I’ve been on a “get outside and do something” kick. Today that kick resulted in some stair sprints. BAM. 12 times up and down these bad boys (they go down to a commuter rail stop).

You can see the railroad, the highway, and far off into the distance? The Shaw’s I buy all my groceries at.

All this random inspiration also got my brains thinking about a challenge. But I can’t tell you much more than that. Not ’til Sunday. Until then, read this little blurb:

During the fall of 2007 I went off to college. All of a sudden I didn’t have three seasons of organized sports to keep me in shape. All of a sudden I had copious amounts of not-the-best-for-me foods available anytime I wanted. These two factors, mixed in with sheer laziness, resulted in me hating my body for most of my college career. I basically wouldn’t wear anything besides jeans and a t-shirt, with a sweatshirt over it. Not many people noticed this insecurity; I hid behind a camera and a computer. I constantly felt sorry for myself, and to make myself feel better, I’d eat a pint of ice cream. Eventually I learned (and am constantly still learning) that no amount of dreaming and wishing to looking great in that cute floral skirt is actually going to make me look good in the cute floral skirt. Dreaming only gets me so far; I have to DO something to get the rest of the way there.

Come back Sunday to find out what I’m (we’re) going to do.

~s

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

