Skip to content

[245] Newton House Fire, March 2nd : Terrifyingly Fascinating

03/02/2012

It started out a normal day. I did some work. I showered. Me & 2 friends went to another friend’s house for coffee & breakfast & chatting. We played with babies. Took pictures of babies. Ate some bagels. Talked about normal life things. And then we decided it was time to go.

Until we walked outside and across the street saw smoke. “Oh gosh, don’t they know burning brush is illegal in this town?” We kept walking a little further up the street to where the car was parked… BUt we didn’t get there, because we saw not a brush fire but a house fire. Coming out of the second story window of the house across the street. Around us were a few other neighbors being frantic, running outside, pointing. “Did anyone call 911?!” “Someone call 911!!!” “Okay, we called 911!!” “Wheerrre is the fire department?!” ….. minutes… the fire kept spreading… I felt so helpless. “WHY AREN’T THEY HERE YET?!” We were still out standing on the street in awe, terror, trying to take as many pictures as I could without dropping my camera because my hands were shaking so badly.

It took almost three full hours of constant spraying with probably 6 hoses to put the fire out. And still after that there was so much smoke. This literally happened less than 200 yards away from my friend’s house. We watched the whole thing. It was too fascinating to leave, even though I couldn’t help but feel awful and almost sick to my stomach the whole time.

I’m in my apartment right now so scared to go to bed tonight because I don’t want this to happen to me. I honestly forgot fire even existed until today.

Gah. These pictures. Why did I take so many.

~s

P.S. The only guy in the house got safely out because his dog was barking so loudly it woke him up from a nap.

P.S.S. Pray for the two families who lived in the house. It’s being torn down tonight and I doubt they had a backup plan. =(

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Esther permalink
    03/03/2012 2:25 am

    My heart goes out to the families and people who had the terrible misfortune of experiencing such a tragic event happening in their lives. No one should ever have to experience or witness such a devastating and horrifying situation. The only conselation in all of this is that no one was serioiusly injured and all escaped with thier lives. Material items can always be replaced, but a life cannot. I speak from a personal point of view, as a survivor of a devastating fire in Watertown in the early 70’s, in which my family and another family in a three apartment house dwelling survived but tragically three young children in the third apartment unfortunately perished. I have read and heard comments on why it took firefighters so long to respond to the 911 calls. Trust me that although it may have seemed as if it took them a long time ,I can guarntee it was only a matter of a few minutes for them to be at the scene and begin to courageously fight the blaze. I commend and praise all emergency responders and would not want any of thier jobs. In a time when thier is so much confusion and panic, time seems to stand still for those who have the misfortune of experiencing or witnessing such a tragedy, and a matter of minutes seems like an eternity. My prayers are with all.

  2. Tia permalink
    03/03/2012 11:46 am

    Wow, what an intense trauma to witness, Steph. Thankfully no one was hurt, but it easily could have been different. All we can do is keep on praying for those involved….like we do for an horrific tragedy, whether it’s fire or tornado or floods or whatever…good thing Someone has us all in His hands, even though it may not look like that to us.

  3. 03/07/2012 4:34 pm

    The last one. What stories it tells. The firefighter looking on, with those Christmas lights in the corner…like he’s on the job, away from home, working to protect others while his family is in a house similar to this one…oh, its so poignant (which is a word I do not take lightly, mind you.) and beautiful in a dutiful and honorable way.

    Sorry for babbling on, but its just SO AWESOME.

    • 03/08/2012 9:46 am

      Wow thank you! That’s also one of my favorites. Sometimes when I look at it I feel like he feels a little helpless. Maybe because I was there and I saw what he was looking at, and it was so sad.

Leave a Reply

