Skip to content

[235] New Gig.

02/21/2012
tags:

Oh my EARLY.

Dear 6:06 train. Youuuu might be the death of me.

Okay, friends. That thing that I wasn’t excited about, the new big adventure I was talking about…. well, that started today. A new job. A job as a designer. Designing things that have potential to change people’s lives. Honestly! I now officially work for a company called ShapeUp, a small Providence-based start up that is basically a social media-type platform for other company’s to help motivate their employees to get healthy. (Sidenote: I feel like I’m cheating on Boston. =( I get sad when I think about it.)

Anyways.

For example, Big Made Up Company says “We need a way to get our people healthy.” so they call ShapeUp and say “We want to buy your platform so our employees can track their health progress and stay accountable.” The ShapeUp says “Sweet! We also think you should start our 12 week pedometer challenge for your people and make it a contest and give them incentives if they win.” Big Made Up Company says “Great! We need posters and fliers and emails to spread the news to our people about this new contest to get healthy.” ShapeUp says “Awesome! Stephanie can design those for you, and make sure they look like your brand.”

So that’s what I do. And to make it even sweeter, I got a new computer. HOLLAA CS5.

A few things about the first day:
– My boss likes to work in the dark. So that will be interesting.
– The first place the HR lady showed me on the tour was where the coffee machine lives.
– There are free cheese sticks. All day, every day. HOW DID THEY KNOW?! Hello 5 pounds.
– The commute kind of sucks. I have to take 2 trains. 6:10 to South Station. 7:20 to Providence. 20 minute walk to the office. I mean, I guess it’s a lot of time to doodle. There’s a great one coming this Friday. Also, I need a car. Anyone have an extra car? =)

That’s all. Have a great night. Maybe I’ll have pics of Providence for you tomorrow.

~stephanie

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/21/2012 10:03 pm

    Where do I send my resume in for Big Made Up company?

  2. Bruce Hart permalink
    02/21/2012 10:22 pm

    Sounds like it’s do-able a couple times a week, with a work-at-home-day in between.
    Time for a deux as well, so its all good.
    To bad Cuse won’t play in the DD Center anymore.

  3. Susana permalink
    02/22/2012 12:11 am

    what about your 2 other jobs? and yay for a big grown up job! congrats! hope the commute gets easier! (it should)

  4. Tia permalink
    02/23/2012 9:51 am

    whooohooo!! I have the same questions: is this new gig a fulltime deal? And are you still working pt with the wedding place?? I’m guessing the photo job was the first to go? Anyway more info needed….inquiring minds want to know!!
    Love you lots.

Leave a Reply

