Skip to content

[something new]

01/01/2012

Remember earlier this week when Nate and I went to the Nutcracker Ballet? We also did something else pretty memorable that night…

Nate had been planning to take me to a fancy dinner and to see the Nutcracker for a long time, but I had only known about it for a week-ish. I was so super excited to be all fancy with him, we always have a ton of fun when we do that. So we got all dressed up and went into the city. There was some time to spare before the show, so we walked to the Public Gardens (stopping at iParty to warm up because it was absolutely freezing and windy) and I wanted to stop to take a picture of the city and the lake (puddle?). I set up my camera on a bench and tried to get the settings right. It sort of worked:

Then I asked told Nate to go stand “over there” so I could test it again. What a champ.

Then I set it on self timer so I could be in the picture with him. Aww… =)
“Nate, for the next one, we’re going to hold hands, k?”
*I run back to the camera to set the timer*
*I run back to Nate to hold his hand…*

And instead he says: “Or.. I could do this…”
AND THEN HE GOT DOWN ON HIS KNEE AND ASKED ME TO MARRY HIM!
(he’s so sneaky/has perfect timing/knows me so well/I guess I unknowingly set him up)

Things that were going through my mind while I was staring down at him on his knee:
-Finally!
-This is real life!
-The camera! I knew that if I moved I’d be blurry and the whole perfectness of the picture that is being made would be ruined. But I just wanted to kiss him so much. So I bent over and kissed him anyways. (Which is why, if you look closely in the picture, you can see me moving in for the kill =] )

I sort of forgot about how proposals usually come with a pretty ring, so when I finally did see it (like three minutes later) I immediately decided it was perfect. Right?! Nate picked it out all by himself. I’m so proud.

And then after all this awesomeness happened, he made me sit through TWO WHOLE HOURS of a ballet before I could tell anyone! =)

SO! The girl who works in the wedding industry is now starting the process of planning her own wedding. Funny thing is? I have no idea where to start. Wish us luck!

~stephanie

15 Comments leave one →
  1. KWalker Photography permalink
    01/01/2012 10:31 pm

    I was so excited for you when Amy told me! Yayayayayayayay :D And it’s so pretty too. Congrats a million times over.

  2. Cassandra permalink
    01/01/2012 10:32 pm

    CONGRATS, Girly!

  3. 01/01/2012 10:38 pm

    What a wonderful way to start 2012! Congrats! Enjoy the ride! :) xo

  4. J Hills permalink
    01/01/2012 10:48 pm

    I am so happy for my gorgeous godchild. You are going to be a beautiful bride!!!! Love you…Aunt Judi

  5. 01/01/2012 11:54 pm

    Oh my goodness, congratulations!! The pictures are SO sweet. :)

  6. Kathryn permalink
    01/02/2012 9:09 am

    Congratulations!!! That is so wonderful!! I love the pictures too by the way :)

  7. 01/02/2012 9:51 am

    Congratulations, dear. I’m super excited for you guys and that story is just great. Yay!

  8. Michelle permalink
    01/02/2012 10:16 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I am so excited for you and Nate :)

  9. Barbara permalink
    01/02/2012 11:45 am

    Love it! Congratulations <3

  10. Tia permalink
    01/02/2012 12:11 pm

    :-)))))))) At last we don’t have to “stuff it” anymore!!! All very excitiating :-) Good story telling, too!

  11. eileen permalink
    01/03/2012 9:07 pm

    little late but CONGRATS

  12. awalkofart permalink
    01/05/2012 4:52 am

    Yayayayaayyaa yay!!!!!!!! 5 RACKKSS down. 2 to go. :) heehee. Love you so much!!! Congrats!!!

  13. 02/01/2012 10:40 am

    Thank you allll for the congrats!

Leave a Reply

