Skip to content

[BAM.] New Branding.

10/17/2011

So excited to share this with you all! This new re-brand thingamabobber is what I’ve been working on for, like, ever. Proof? August 29th.

Before we get into the newness, I want to share some of my process with you. It all started while I was looking at other brand identities/systems and admiring how cohesive and thought out they were. Then I realized that t.w.a.y could have a brand like that, one that was well thought out, well designed & well executed. I mean, I’m a designer. That’s what I studied for 3 years of my life.

Anyways, so I started brainstorming. I made an inspiration board on Pinterest based on other identities I thought worked well or that I liked the aesthetic of. I sat down and started sketching. Drawing. Doodling. Word-banking. Dreaming. (I’d show you a picture, but I’m not sure where that notebook went)

I went through so many ideas! I knew I did want an actual “mark” and not just nicely done typographic logo. I knew I wanted the mark to somewhat relate to photography, but obviously not the typical camera, flash or shutter icon I’ve seen used a lot. My final idea was to “doodle-ify” a sun flare, because as we all know, I wouldn’t be mad if there were sun flares in every picture I ever took. It went through a lot of renditions, but this is what I settled on:

I’ve been using these three words for a while when describing my photography style, so I didn’t change a thing! Fun, fresh and creative really sum up the types of pictures I take and experience I want my clients to have, so I will continue use those words as a basis for my brand. The colors, the typography & the design, also reflect these words.

The good thing about the new logo is that there are enough colors and elements I can take out of it to use on their own. Later on you will see how I used these individual elements on the business card and on the logo variations.

Haven’t actually printed any of these yet, but hopefully that will get done soon.

In case of an emergency (not enough space, need a long logo rather than a tall one, want to switch things up a bit) I came up with a few variations on the logo that still stay within the brandiness of t.w.a.y.

There were a few other rules & regs I decided should stay consistent: the font choices, the angle I’d use if I were to put things on an angle, and the colors. Also, notice how most things have been centered. I know centered is sometimes frowned upon, but I thought it worked well with the brand.

Right now this is all just a bunch of bits & pieces, but my goal is for it to all come together on the new blogsite (a blog and website mashed into one thing). It is currently still under construction, but I do promise it will be up soon! I just couldn’t wait any longer to share this stuff.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on all this. Does the new rebrand keep in tune with the pictures you regularly see here on t.w.a.y?

~S

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/17/2011 4:16 pm

    Like the color combo and the thinking. Just got wondering about This WAY instead of T.W.A.Y. Just a thought.

  2. Michael permalink
    10/18/2011 12:11 am

    Not saying you should rebrand again, but you should find excuses to write more case study-esque posts. It’s cool to see the final product laid out and explained.

  3. 10/18/2011 11:30 pm

    you are amazing

  4. sarah scott permalink
    10/19/2011 1:31 am

    Oddly I like the tway logo variation with the 3 sunflare elements best of all! I think its because when I think tway I think bokeh which is awesome and perfectly represented by small circles.

  5. 10/20/2011 5:52 pm

    I Love this Steph! Great job! Miss you!

  6. jackie permalink
    10/27/2011 10:28 am

    I’d love to see some of the other ideas/sketches you had before you came to this image. Love the branding!

Leave a Reply

