Skip to content

[fyi//34] Too Inspired.

09/26/2011

“Don’t let “looking for inspiration” become the number one thing that gets in the way of you actually making stuff.”
-Chuck Anderson

~*~

I found/re-tweeted this quote a few months ago because I thought it was a good point. I never realized I might actually fall into the category of people the quote is telling me not to be.

You see, I find all this great inspiration around the world (internet) and say “OH! I can do that! I’m gonna do that. Someday.” And then someday never comes. And then I feel like I wasted my time “finding inspiration” because if I’m not going to do anything about it, then why look for it.

I’m all about inspiration; if you have spent any time on my blog, you know that. BUT. If I spend all my time looking for it, I’m wasting time I could be using to actually create something. Do you know how long it’s been since I had a personal design project going on? FOREVERRRR. I’ve been too busy looking at other peoples projects and saying “Well I can do something like that, or that, or that.” And I forget that, yes, it’s nice to be inspired sometimes, but in the end, it’s my project and my ideas, and I have to just go for it, inspired or not.

This all sounds very contradictory to how I normally talk of inspiration.

Advice: Get inspired. Walk away. And then do something about it.

As you can probably see, there are no pictures today. I’m too inspired. I needed a break. Just being honest.

<3S

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

