Skip to content

[ten years later]

09/11/2011

If you follow many blogs or have been on Facebook at all today, I’m sure you’ve read stories of where people were the morning of September 11th, 2001. Mine seems similar to those my age: 12 years old, in school (Mrs. Menck’s 7th grade science class), & the rest of the day was spent watching the news. Then, I wasn’t sure what to think. I knew it was sad. I knew it was scary. And every year since then, on September 11th, I’ve taken a few moments to pray for the families of victims.

But this year caught me off guard. This morning at church we watched a short video of clips & pictures and, while I was blinking back tears for the rest of the church service, I guess it occurred to me exactly how devastating September 11th was. I’m really not sure why it’s taken me this long to know with my heart how terrible this day ten years ago really was. I don’t know if it’s because, ten years later, I’m finally starting to “get” the vastness of the tragedy? Maybe it’s because now I’m better at empathizing with/for people and my heart feels so sad for those people who lost a loved one in the attacks. Either way, I think now I’ll remember more often, not just on the anniversary like in previous years, about the life changing day that was September 11th.

And for those people who lost someone close to them, you might want to take a listen to this song.
Cry Out to Jesus by Third Day.

Love,
Stephanie

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

