Skip to content

[69] I never talk about…

09/06/2011

Why yes, I do sometimes look like a duck.

Anyways, that’s not the point.

I realized that for as much talking as I do on this blog, I don’t ever really tell you anything. Like, go into detail about things I do or love or struggle with. I saw two of my besties this past weekend and both, at separate times/occasions, mentioned how they were jealous of my life because everything they read on my blog makes it seem perfect. Well, my friends, it’s not! And this week I’m going to (force myself to be honest with my faithful blog readers) show you why.

Today we’ll cover the (obvious?) topic (that I’m obsessed with) :: running/being healthy/losing weight.

Surprisingly, I do other things besides work, take pictures and hang out with Nate (really!). Running is one of those things. I started running last August because I was super unhappy with how my body looked and needed a form of exercise that was fast (well, it was pretty slow at first, but you know what I mean) and easy accessible from my apartment (aka: not walking 20 minutes to the gym). So, running it was. Over the last year I’ve lost and kept off about 25 pounds (obvi it fluctuates, wedding season wasn’t good for me haha) And almost a year later, I’ve made it a habit/priority of running at least 3 times a week. Sometimes 5. Never every day (I’m lazy).

Some days I run because I love it. Some days it’s solely because I’m training for a half marathon. And truthfully, some days I run because I know I ate too much and running is a way to justify it. (Not a good way to look at it, chaps!) Any of the ways, I run because I’m scared of getting fat again. Like, terrified! My main goal in life is to never be as heavy as I was a year ago! (Remember, this is me being honest with you)(I feel silly telling you all this).

Anyways new topic: food. I eat a lot of it. BUT the majority of what I eat is pretty dang healthy. Like honestly, I can name off to you everything I eat on a normal day (I won’t, that’s boring). My weaknesses are: ice cream, bread & cheese. And chocolate. And basically any sweets. But ANYWAYS! Yeah, I try to eat stuff that has less than 10-ish ingredients. I mean, in an ideal world that is ultimate my plan. Obvi if I’m eating out I forgo that plan and simply try to be healthy. If any of my blog readers are trying to lose weight here is my number one (cliche) rule of thumb. YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT. Honestly. On the days I eat oatmeal with almonds for breakfast, salad and fruit for lunch, a granola bar for snack and chicken & broccoli for dinner (or something along those lines)(which happens “perfectly” maybe 3 times a week), I FEEL SO GOOD. On days I have coffee & a muffin for breakfast, junior mints for lunch and pasta with too much butter for dinner and ice cream for dessert ? Ewwwwwwww. I have those thoughts (you know those thoughts) and then wish I hadn’t eaten all that not-so-great-for-my-body stuff.

Yeah, I’ve lost some weight, but making healthy choices in a daily struggle for me. It’s just like anything in life. You choose to love someone, you choose to study, you choose to push yourself creatively, you choose to be healthy. It’s HARD, yo! I wanna eat all the ice cream in the WORLD! But luckily, whatever I’ve been doing works for me. Eating less/cleaner and with moderation (most of the time. I can get crazy). Moving more and more often. The only way, peeps. You can do crash diets and cleanses and stuff, but I’m just gonna be honest with you, it’s not going to last. Losing weight doesn’t happen ‘fast’. We gotta put in the work to get the results! I really believe that!

Andddd this is getting freakin’ long and I have no idea where it’s going or if it even made sense or if anyone even read it. Whatever.

I could go on and on and on and on about this topic (losing weight, how-to, running, ect) for days. Really. Test me.

<3S

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/06/2011 11:07 pm

    You go girl. Love ya!

  2. Tia permalink
    09/08/2011 4:18 pm

    I love that you’re being “real” on your blog. Thanks for being honest and sharing your struggles and thoughts about it all. And, OK, I have to ask: “those thoughts…you know those thoughts…” The beating yourself up kind of thoughts? Or what….
    Love you!!!!

  3. 09/13/2011 9:45 pm

    Steph, thanks for this blog entry! You are an inspiration! And, what DJ said! :)

Leave a Reply

