Skip to content

[2//16] Every Summer But This One.

07/17/2011

Today, everything reminded me of summers that I’ve lived before; every summer but this summer. The way the early morning air felt when I woke up, the sun shining in through the kitchen window. It was brisk and bright and familiar. I wanted to be in a canoe fishing on Lake Kanasatka, or curled up in the gazebo at Camp Spofford reading my Bible. I wanted to be anywhere but where I was.

Nothing this summer has been the same. I’ve lived out of a suitcase, gone from living with best friends to living with new friends, spent more time in a city than I ever have before, and felt like crying more times than once. But I guess that’s what comes with a new life, and I guess I have to get used to it. I’d love nothing more than to take part in ‘the usual’ summer activities my heart is so accustomed to, but today I realized this summer is different from the previous ones, and future ones will be different from this. I will always have memories, but I can’t dwell on those memories so much that I forget to make new ones.

So here’s to hitting 5 tag sales in one day, taking a walk by myself near the pond to clear my head, taking a self portrait that actually portrays how the most of my afternoon felt, and indulging in dark chocolate while watching Cars 2 & Zookeeper at the drive-in with Nathaniel.

This summer is it’s own summer, and I’m finally going to let it be exactly that.

<3S

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/17/2011 11:04 am

    Steph! hey. I just have to say I relate to this post a lot. Obviously in different ways, but nevertheless these things are hard. I pray that as you walk through this new part of life that you will find joy what He has for you.

  2. Stephanie permalink
    07/17/2011 1:03 pm

    I think this has been one of your most honest posts to date. I love your self portrait and I love you.

Leave a Reply

