Skip to content

[fashion] Momentum Clothing

06/03/2011

Story: Two weeks ago I stopped into the little boutique that I always make a point to stop into when roaming around downtown. It’s cute, fashion-y, and gives me ideas for photo shoots. I walked around the shop for a few minutes, jammed to the good music, secretly wished I had money with me to buy the PERFECTLY striped/nautical dress on the “new arrivals” rack, and then left. I went two doors down to my favorite coffee shop and started thinking. Think, think, sip, sip, think, sip, think. [Sidenote: You do know that coffee has proven to get ideas flowing. I read it once in a magazine.] Thankfully that magazine was so right, because I had an idea!

I walked back into the little boutique and roamed around again. I probably looked really sketch. I had this idea, but didn’t really know how I wanted to present it, and I was also a little shy so it took me a while to conjure up the courage to go talk to the girl working the desk. But I did, and we talked, and luckily she was just as excited about the idea of teaming up to do a photo shoot as I was!

So, world, meet Megan. She works at Moe Clothing and is amazingly bubbly & fun. She has all these ideas and visions for Moe, and a girl with a vision is the best kind of girl to work with. The last two Thursdays we’ve met up and had two really great shoots! And how could we not? Look at that girl’s impeccable styling talent and gorgeous smile. Makes my job easy. Honestly.

Some things I learned from this shoot (you don’t have to read this, these are just some “Notes to Self”) :
// These were my first fashion-y shoots, and I really enjoyed them. Like, a lot.
// It’s really great to work with someone who loves what they’re doing. Megan loves fashion, loves styling, and loves modeling, so like I said before, that makes my job easy. Find people who love it as much as you do.
// On that note: I need to learn how to direct more. Models who know what they’re doing, like Megan, don’t really need it, but there were some points when she ran out of “poses” and asked me for suggestions and I kind of just stared blankly, haha. I had no idea what to tell her to do. If I do want to do more of this in the future, I need to stray from my usual wedding photography blogs and start looking at more fashion photography ones. Inspiration, people, I say it all the time. Now I just need to take my own advice.
// Dear Me, Don’t be scared to experiment with different editing styles. Love, Me.

And, that’s a wrap!

Hope you enjoyed!

<3S

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Carol permalink
    06/03/2011 6:08 pm

    Our Meggie is a doll! She is gorgeous. Glad you did the shoot. Her proud Papa sent the link to me! C

  2. 06/20/2011 9:01 am

    Awesome job Steph! Looks like a fun shoot!

Leave a Reply

