Skip to content

[122] Initials.

05/16/2010

My family moved across town when I was in 8th grade. It was a big deal to me. I had a few good friends in the old neighborhood and had recently repainted my room ocean blue [a very sophisticated choice seeing as it had been pink for 10 years]. Anyways, to make a long story short, one day I was looking out my new bedroom window and noticed a tree. This tree was very tall, the tallest of all the trees I could see. I thought carving my initials into a tree would be the coolest way to leave my mark on my new neighborhood, so that’s exactly what I set off to do. With a steak knife in hand, I walked across the street to the tree and tried to find a spot on the trunk that I could easily carve my initials. But low and behold, the bark on the tree was too thick and bumpy, even for my steak knife. I was so bummed. But something caught my eye: a little tree right next to the big one, with bark so smooth even a dull butter knife could carve it. I decided it would be okay to carve my initials into that tree instead, with an arrow pointing to the tree that was really “mine”.  Anyways, it was never meant to be a secret, but since it dwells on the opposite side of a tree that is located far back in the woods across from my house, I’m pretty sure you’re the first people to see it. Congrats. Thanks for reading my initials story. You’re great.

<3S

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/16/2010 6:34 pm

    I remember doing the same as a child, I wonder if my tree is still there.

  2. Kate permalink
    05/17/2010 7:17 am

    That’s a nice arrow. Does it point to your house?

  3. 05/17/2010 10:13 am

    It points to the tree that I originally wanted to carve my initials on.
    My house is through the leaves, kind of right in the big bright spot.

  4. 06/05/2010 12:01 am

    no way!? you didn’t tell me it was this cool!

Leave a Reply

