Skip to content

[74] Green, Yellow & Red.

03/29/2010
tags:

Based on my five-minute research session I just did (thank you Wikipedia), “The color of the traffic lights representing stop and go might be derived from those used to identify port (red) and starboard (green) in maritime rules governing right of way, where the vessel on the left must stop for the one crossing on the right.”

You learn somethin’ new every day.

<3S

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill permalink
    03/29/2010 8:17 pm

    Great picture and interesting piece of info. I really like the sky to light color contrast. Question, why are the lights positioned vertically and not horizontally considering the origin of the usage? Just curious.

  2. Tia permalink
    03/29/2010 8:24 pm

    Hey Steph,
    Is there a way I could send this pic to someone? My spiritual teacher talks about listening to our intuition as with “green, yellow, and red” as the metaphor…would love to send this to her.
    Sad I won’t see you next Sunday…

  3. 03/29/2010 8:39 pm

    Tia, sure you can definitely send it to your teacher.

    Mother, I’m not sure, I researched very quickly, only to look up the reasons behind the colors. I bet Wikipedia has your answer though!

  4. Tia permalink
    03/30/2010 1:38 pm

    thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

