Skip to content

[43] Maple Syrup Snow.

02/26/2010

When I was 7 or 8 years old, my family was visiting my aunt Carol’s house on a snowy winter day. There were a bunch of people over and the kids decided to go outside and play. I don’t remember whose idea this was, but someone suggested we gather all the fresh snow into bowls and pour maple syrup over it and eat it like ice cream. I was like, these people are crazy, but then we did it, and it was magical. Seriously. Anyways, so this morning, after watching two of our neighbors help push/dig Jess’s car out of a snowbank, me and Kate were standing on the sidewalk in Narnia (formerly known as Lancaster Ave) and Kate had a brilliant idea to go get a cup and fill it with this fresh snow and pour grapefruit juice over it and have it for breakfast. I was like, sweet, good idea. But then: I remembered the magical-ness of the maple syrup. So, instead of grapefruit juice snow, we got our bowls of snow and our maple syrup, and had maple syrup snow for breakfast. Mmmm. :)

<3S

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/26/2010 11:26 am

    OMG yes! I used to do this all the time!!! :D

  2. Sarah permalink
    02/26/2010 11:32 pm

    UM….CUTE picture and that sounds DELICIOUS. I love maple syrup.

  3. Tia permalink
    02/27/2010 4:12 am

    I love it!! I don’t remember this…was it in Gilsum???
    Thanks for letting me know…I would have seen it eventually, though, ‘cuz I do look at your blog. I love your pics, and I love you!

  4. Tia permalink
    02/27/2010 4:13 am

    ps i’m not usually up this early…. :-( but I get to go back to sleep thank goodness!

  5. 02/27/2010 12:43 pm

    Tia, yeah I’m pretty sure it was in Gilsum! So long ago!

  6. Kaitlin H. permalink
    03/01/2010 8:56 pm

    Steph!! Thats a traditional North East Native American trick… and I know this because I was obsessed ( I mean OBSESSED ) with Indians when I was a kid. With all my research as a child I do remember that natives around this area would tap trees, boil it, and pour it on snow as a treat!

  7. 03/02/2010 12:24 am

    Oh my gosh, Kaitlin, that’s so cool! Thanks for sharing!

  8. 03/08/2010 9:18 pm

    Steph I totally remember this! Beautiful New England snow with Vermont maple syrup was always a hit :) So many good times, love you!

Leave a Reply

